21 Simcoe St S Suite 110
Oshawa, ON, L1H 4G1


Canadian Immigration Services 

Canadian Immigration Program Updates – November 2018


Canadian Immigration Program Updates – November 2018

Jade Calver

International Experience Canada

The Program Delivery Instructions (PDI) on the International Experience Canada (IEC) Program related to the bilateral agreements and arrangements have been updated. The former age of eligibility for Australia was 18 to 30; now individuals can be between the ages of 18 and 35. The agreement with Denmark now also allows those Danish citizens who reside in Greenland and the Faroe Islands to participate in the program. Finally, Portugal has been added as the 34th country that has an agreement with Canada, under the IEC Program. Foreign nationals from Portugal may participate in the IEC program starting at the opening of the 2019 season.

The International Experience Canada (IEC) program closed on Monday, October 1st for the 2018 season. Applicants who received an Invitation to Apply (ITA) before the season closed may still complete and submit their work permit application. For those who were interested in applying but were unable to make the cut-off date, the IEC program will re-open either before the end of the year or at the start of 2019. Stay tuned to the program delivery updates for more information soon.  

What is the International Experience Canada (IEC) program?

The International Experience Canada (IEC) program offers young citizens the opportunity to travel and work in Canada for a set period of time, ranging from six to 24 months (depending on the participant’s country of origin). This program allows individuals to enter Canada through one of three streams: Working Holiday, Young Professional, or International Co-op Internship.  

New Designated French Learning Testing Organization & Test

The Test de Connaissance du Francais pour le Canada (TCF Canada), which is administered by the Centre International D’Etuses Pedagogiques (CIEP) is now recognized as an acceptable language test by Immigration, Refugee and Citizenship Canada (IRCC). As such, the program delivery instructions have now been updated to include the new designation of the CIEP and the new TCF as applicable to permanent residence applications.

Previously, the only accepted language tests included the Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program (CELPIP), Test D’evaluation de Francais (TEF), and International English Language Testing System (IELTS).

Check out our guide to Canadian immigration language tests.